Soundtracked – August 9th

Here are some of the recent song releases we’ve been enjoying at LDOI. All songs featured can be found in the Spotify playlist linked at the bottom of the page (updated weekly).

*TRACK OF THE WEEK*: ‘Like Ice’ – honeywhip : The fifth release from LA-based music project, honeywhip is their most exciting yet. Jumping straight into head-bopping instrumentals and soul-laden vocals, ‘Like Ice’ is wonderfully summery, accompanying jazzy guitars with cloudy synths. FFO: Toro y Moi

Origami Heart’ – Dawn Chorus : Gorgeous guitar tones are layered by groove-filled vocal hooks, in the latest release from Dawn Chorus. Influenced by ‘decades of psychedelic music’, the trio’s new track blends addictive lyricism with rich melodies. FFO: Babe Rainbow

‘Falling Blind’ – Pachinko & Kendal Christie : The new collaboration between Pachinko and Kendal Christie opens up with swaying guitar notes, falling into a calming melody layered with soft vocals and sweet lyrical hooks. FFO: Frank Ocean

‘As Bad As The First’ – Los Saints : Laidback harmonies spiral behind mellow guitar progressions, blending cool jazzy tones with surf-pop melodies; as the US-based four-piece debut the first part of their three single release series. FFO: Hockey Dad

‘Take Your Things’ – Wuwu : Crafting a sparkling lo-fi pop sound, American duo Wuwu pair bold guitar riffs with velvety vocals, exploring social issues across the world through observant lyricism and emotive choruses. FFO: Yellow Days

‘Sweet Tooth’ – Fruut : Dominated by super catchy vocal hooks, the new single from Fruut melds delicate instrumentals with witty lyrical content and slick production. The track is Fruut’s 7th single release so far this year. FFO: Still Woozy

‘Julia’ – Stef Pesic : Drifting in a summery haze, ‘Julia’ draws upon breezy vocals and tranquil instrumentals, characterised by lo-fi production and reflective songwriting. The track is Stef Pesic’s debut single release. FFO: Rex Orange County

‘Take Your Pain & Turn It Into Art’ – Joey Collins : Reverb-packed guitars soundtrack airy vocals and subtle harmonies, forming a delicate track, swirling in melancholy. The single is Collins’ first release since his latest EP, which was debuted earlier this year. FFO: Elliott Smith

’02 20 20′ – Xelli Island : Crafting a sweeping dream-pop soundscape, the latest track release from Xelli Island is lined with funky backing beats and layered harmonies, with Xelli Island saying she wrote the song about “finding gratitude in even the most normal experiences”. FFO: Glass Animals

‘Blue’ – LUCKY TAPES & Kojikoji : Mixing retro-style pop with more contemporary production, the new collaboration from Japanese artists, LUCKY TAPES and Kojikoji, joins catchy vocal lines with smooth beats and synths. FFO: Temporex

Listen to the ‘Soundtracked’ playlist here:

Website Powered by