Soundtracked – June 21st

Here are some of the recent song releases we’ve been enjoying at LDOI. All songs featured can be found in the Spotify playlist linked at the bottom of the page (updated weekly).

*TRACK OF THE WEEK* ‘Company’ – Lucid State : Oxford-based duo, Lucid State, have released their newest single, ‘Company’, which they describe as “a song about an ambiguous modern-day relationship and the desire for something deeper”. An exciting mix of R&B and neo-soul, the jazz-infused guitar lines from Shayan Fassih waltz around the raw vocals from singer Ben Northam, sailing into laidback melodies and infectious choruses. FFO: Kawala

‘Promise Land’ – Sofia St Jean : Maryland artist, Sofia St Jean notes that her latest release was “was a journey to create just as it is a journey to listen to”. Bringing together power-driven vocals and swaying harmonies, ‘Promise Land’ breaks into a shining track filled with authenticity. FFO: Arlo Parks

‘Candy’ – Max Pope : The soulful new single from Brighton-raised artist Max Pope is a gorgeous blend of groove-filled instrumentals and smooth vocal hooks, marking his third release of 2020, and the final track of the ‘In Limbo’ EP. FFO: Tom Misch

‘my love is golden’ – The Dollar Bill Murrays : Australian group, The Dollar Bill Murrays have released their third single of the year, ‘my love is golden’. Filled with woozy vocals and swaying, lo-fi melodies, the band note that “the song documents the journey from a panicked mental state, to that of accepting your own love and the love of those around you.” FFO: Mac Demarco

‘Life In Outer Space’ – Elephant Castle : Fusing funk and psychedelia, the latest release from Los-Angeles based project, Elephant Castle (led by Phil Danyew), features swirling choruses and groove-laden basslines, dancing through glittering harmonies and subtle synth hooks, with Danyew describing the track as a ‘cosmic love story’. FFO: Tame Impala

‘Undecided’ – Conor Albert, Maria Dahlstrom : The shiny jazz-inspired instrumentation from producer and multi-instrumentalist, Conor Albert, blend effortlessly with the rich vocals of singer, Maria Dahlstrom, crafting a warm, sun-filled collaboration. Conor Albert is set to release his debut EP, entitled ‘Collage 1’, in July this year. FFO: Jordan Rakei

‘New Job’ – Dance Lessons : Packed with addictive vocal hooks and driving basslines, the vibrant new single from London-based trio, Dance Lessons, melds glowing synths with subtle dance-pop beats. Speaking about the track, lead singer, Ann said “The song shows the similarities in perspective of two people post-breakup, both using distractions to mask the sadness.” FFO: Foals

‘Sally on the Avenue’ – Sleepy Gonzales : Mixing sleepy harmonies with echoing guitars and gentle synths, the latest release from Canadian band Sleepy Gonzales is gorgeously dream-like . ‘Sally on the Avenue’ is the second track from the group’s upcoming full-length album. FFO:

‘Daydreaming’ – Jay Marwaha : The new single from London-based artist, Jay Marwaha, draws upon hints of drum and bass, bouncing into a colourful track packed with summery vibes. Marwaha released his debut album late last year. FFO: Loyle Carner

‘Sweatshirt’ – JVLES : Gothenburg artist, JVLES’s latest release joins rich vocal hooks with warm, sunny instrumentals, sizzling with vibrant synth lines. ‘Sweatshirt’ is the artist’s second single of the year. FFO: Joy Crookes

Listen to the ‘Soundtracked’ playlist here:

Website Powered by